COMING SOON | Online Masterclass “Research, Narratives, and Platforms”

Join artist Laia Abril for a 4-week masterclass where participants will learn the best strategies and practices to use when developing a long-term project. Abril, who’s research-based work revolves around conceptualization and interpretation of facts, will teach participants the best strategies to use in order to enhance the investigation and construction of a photographic narrative.

Trained as a journalist and through her experience as a photographer, bookmaker and art director, Abril has developed a collaborative creative method to construct, analyze and refine narratives across a number of platforms. Examples of her work methodology will act as examples for participants to think laterally about their own projects.

This masterclass will also look at how a combination of different mediums such as photography, design, text, film or illustration can transform an idea into a wider artistic project. Participants are encouraged to bring an existing body of work, a book mock-up or installation proposal that they would like to evolve beyond the scope of photography. Participants that have projects or ideas at an earlier stage will focus on developing a research plan for the work.

SCHEDULE: Meets online from 5-8pm (Barcelona), 11-2pm (New York), 8-11am (Los Angeles) on the following days: Week 1: Tuesday April 6, Week 2: Tuesday April 13 + Wednesday April 14, Week 3: Tuesday April 20 + Wednesday April 21, Week 4: one individual 1:1 meeting (30 minutes) to be scheduled on Saturday April 24 (Group A) or Sunday April 25 (Group B). A list of materials to prepare, upload portfolio page links & Zoom classroom logins will be provided a week before the start of class.

More info